Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

The Hill of Crosses is unusual place in Lithuania. The first crosses were placed on the former Jurgaičiai or Domantai hill fort after the 1831 Uprising. Over the centuries, not only crosses, but giant crucifixes, carvings of Lithuanian patriots, statues of the Virgin Mary and thousands of tiny effigies and rosaries have been brought here by Catholic pilgrims. The number of crosses is unknown, but estimates put it at about 50,000.

More information Wikipedia

Nobody έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1998
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Tatiana Pavlova (Kirych) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 267 W: 56 N: 434] (2716)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH