Photographer's Note

The St. Johns River lighthouse is located on the Mayport Naval Station. There is no public access to the lighthouse, you can only try to take photos through the fence. This shot was taken about an hour before sunset using the angular lighting to give the lighthouse a nice glow.
The St. Johns River is Floridas longest, snaking over 310 miles from the swamps of central Florida to the Atlantic Ocean. The total drop of the river from its source to its mouth is less than 30 feet, or about an inch per mile, making it one of the laziest rivers in the world. Another of the rivers unique features is that it flows north, one of just a few rivers in the United States that does.
This interesting river attracted settlers early on, and for a time, each group would bestow a new name on the river. The Timucuan Indians called it Welaka, meaning river of lakes. The French named it Riviere di Mai, River of May, since they arrived on May 1. The Spanish have called it Rio de Corrientes (River of Currents) and San Mateo, but it was finally renamed Rio de San Juan, after the mission San Juan del Puerto was established near the mouth of the river in 1850. The name Rio de San Juan was later Anglicized to St. Johns and then St. Johns. St. Johns River continues to be a vital waterway with huge Naval ships entering the river bound for Naval Station Mayport, and cargo containers heading farther upstream to Jacksonville, Floridas second largest port.
The lighthouse had been in operation for just over two years, when the Civil War broke out. Unlike many southern lighthouses, the St. Johns River Light operated during a good portion of the war, until a Confederate sympathizer shot out the light in 1864. The lighthouse remained inactive for the remainder of the war, and was finally outfitted with a new Fresnel lens and relit in 1867.
WS has a wider view with the inclusion of the fence.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2477
Points: 100
Discussions
Additional Photos by Asa Jernigan (asajernigan) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3599 W: 88 N: 5553] (21427)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH