Photographer's Note

Franais/French
Le pont couvert de Notre-Dame-des-Pins est ouvert la circulation en 1927. Le 8 avril 1928, le pont tout neuf est emport par les glaces de la dbcle.

La construction d'un nouveau pont dbute l't 1928. Le nouveau pont, (celui que lon voit sur la photo) prnomm pont Perreault en l'honneur du ministre, possdera donc des piliers de bton, ayant quatre pieds de plus haut que les prcdents, au-dessus du niveau de l'eau. Le pont Perreault, avec ses 496 pieds permet aux citoyens de circuler librement entre les deux rives. Il fut ferm la circulation automobile en novembre 1969, il y a 40 ans dj.

English/Anglais
The covered bridge of Notre-Dame-des-Pins is opened to the traffic in 1927. On April 8, 1928, the new bridge is destroyed by the ices of the flood.

They began the contruction of a new bridge during the summer of 1928. The bridge, (the one we see on the picture) has been called "Perreault" bridge in the honor of the minister. The new pillars have four feet higher than the old ones above the level of the water. The Perreault bridge is 496 feet long and helps the citizens to freely circulate between the two banks. It was closed to the traffic in November 1969.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2902
Points: 52
Additional Photos by Denis Nadeau (denisn72) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1153 W: 43 N: 1773] (8314)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH