Photographer's Note

English/Anglais
The Boston Asbestos Co. mine began the exploitation of asbestos in 1908. It was entirely French Canadian and the head office was in East Broughton. This mine employed 70 men.
The transport of the ore was particular. An overhead tramway of more than one mille length transported the rock. Each bucket could contain 1200 pounds of rock filled by the minors.
The foundations hidden in a thick vegetation and the dumps are the only vestiges of what remains today, one of the most beautiful mine in East Broughton.

Franais/French
La mine Boston Asbestos co. dbuta l'exploitation de l'amiante en 1908. Elle tait entirement canadienne franaise et le sige social tait East Broughton. Cette mine employait 70 hommes.
Le transport du minerai de cette mine tait particulier. Un tramway arien de plus de un mille de long transportait la roche. Chaque benne pouvait contenir 1200 livres de roche remplie par les mineurs.
Les fondations caches dans une paisse vgtation et les haldes sont les seuls vestiges de ce qui reste aujourd'hui de cette mine, l'un des plus beaux fleurons miniers d'East Broughton.

2009 - Tous Droits Rservs. Denis Nadeau Copyright.
2009 - All Rights Reserved: Denis Nadeau Copyright.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3920
Points: 54
Discussions
Additional Photos by Denis Nadeau (denisn72) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1153 W: 43 N: 1773] (8314)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH