Photographer's Note

First post on TE from Gould, Quebec.

Between Sherbrooke and Lac-Mgantic, Lingwick Township includes the villages of Sainte-Marguerite and Gould.

Rich with agricultural land, forests and boasting a great spot for mill construction at the junction of the Salmon River and Moffat Stream, Gould became this Townships county seat in 1855. The first village of the Gaelic Townships, this is where the semi-Irish and semi-Scottish founding families of Cowan and Hanright chose to live.

In 1893, they marked their presence by building the McVetty-McKerry covered bridge the longest in the Townships. With its interlaced lateral openings, this covered bridge is the bext example of the original Town-type trellis structure.

Click on this link to see another covered bridge of Quebec Province.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3033
Points: 52
Discussions
Additional Photos by Andre Roberge (InasiaJones) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1391 W: 152 N: 6235] (31566)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH