Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Bodrum Castle was built by Hospitaller Knights as St. Peter castle in the old Halicarnassus (Old name of Bodrum) city. The materials used to build the castle was taken from the ruins of Tomb of King Mausolus (now called The Mausoleum), one of the seven wonders of ancient workld. The Knights were coming from different countries like, France, Italy, Spain, England, Germany and Provence and Auvergne. Then the castle was siezed by Turkish leader Sόleyman the Magnificent by 1521. In the First World War a French warship fired on the Castle, damaging several towers and toppling the minaret. After the war the Italians, who occupied the Anatolian shore from Kusadasi to Antalya, put a garrison in the Castle. They also repaired the Italian and French towers and tried to establish good relations with Turkey. The Castle stood empty for almost 40 years, until the Turkish government decided to use it as a storeroom for underwater findings from several recent shipwreck excavations. Oguz Alpφzen first came to the museum in 1962 as an archaeology student, and in 1968 he became its first official staff underwater archaeologist. Since 1978 he has served as Director of the castle. It is the director, Mr. Oguz Alpozen, (retired in july 2005) who deserves credit for implementing the "living museum" concept which attracts hundreds of thousands visitors and which has earned international renown and recognition in the form of the Museum of the Year Award.

The castle is now the home of the Bodrum Museum of Underwater Archaeology with a vast collection of glass, bronze, clay, iron items and an ancient Phoenician shipwreck.

ahmetgedikli, Mondaychild έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 2079
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aykut SIMSAR (rasmis) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 78 W: 9 N: 43] (291)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH