Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Smeaton’s Tower is one of Plymouth’s most prominent landmarks. It was originally the third of the four Eddystone Lighthouses that have existed. Designed by John Smeaton, construction began in 1756 and was completed in 1759. For 123 years, it warned ships of the dangerous Eddystone Rocks located some 22km (14 miles) off the coast of Plymouth.
When the decision was made to replace it, the plans were originally for it to be blown up, but in 1882 The Trinity Corporation moved the tower to its current position as a memorial to John Smeaton.( plymouth-explore.co.uk)
This photo was taken on a very gray day in Plymouth not yielding any sunshine or blue skies.

tobourge έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1783
Points: 5
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Asa Jernigan (asajernigan) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3599 W: 88 N: 5553] (21427)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH