Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

In 1620 Yov Boretsky made it the residence of the renewed Orthodox metropolitan of Kyiv, and in 1633 Isaia Kopynsky was named supervisor. It enjoyed the patronage of hetmans and other benefactors and acquired many valuable artifacts. Although most of the monastery's properties were secularized in the late 18th century, in the 19th and 20th centuries as many as 240 monks have lived there, and after 1800 it served as the residence of the bishop of Chernihiv. A precentor's school was located there, and many prominent composers studied or taught at the school.

maloncrab, d0ul0s έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 2013
Points: 4
Additional Photos by Ivan Evgrafoff (Exposure) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 27 W: 4 N: 25] (725)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH