Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

The church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist, a patron saint to whom old churches beside lakes or on the banks of rivers were often dedicated. It is built on a west-east orientation and is surrounded by an old cemetery wall with two entrances. On an oil painting by Franz Kurz von Goldenstein (1807-1878), we can still see a number of graves and the shingle roof on the wall, which is still preserved today. We do not know why he painted a late Gothic window on the northern facade of the nave.The church nave - probably still a Romanic one - was once about 1.5 m lower than the present one. It had a straight wooden ceiling and its ground plan had the same measurements as it has today: it was 8.30 metres long, 5.20 metres wide, and on the eastern side it probably had - on the evidence of other similar architecture - a semi-circular Romanesque apse.

Kielia έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1966
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Grzegorz Oczkowicz (GREGG) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 558 W: 117 N: 1113] (7888)
  • Austur-Hunavatnssysla photo
    #
  • Borgarfjardharsysla photo
    #
  • Snaefellsnessysla photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH