Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

"The name bβrsan means a shepherd who keeps sheep with thick long wool, and the word became a surname during medieaval times. The village of Bβrsana is referred to as the property of kneaz Stanislau, son of Stan Bβrsan in documents of 1326 and 1346.
The monastery had by that time existed for some centuries, for a document of 6 November 1405 mentions a field of the monastery. The church was used for monastic purposes until 1791, when the monastery was abolished. In 1802, the villagers decided to move the unused church to the middle of the community. The church, which now stands on a small hill surrounded by an orchard, is one of the eight churches on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The church was built of thick beams of oak on a foundation of massive blocks of stone. It has a rectangular plan, with a polygonal chancel apse, which is slightly narrower than the main body of the building. On top of the pronaos rises the tower, which is not extremely tall, but still gives a graceful air to the whole. In front of the west faηade, there is a porch on two levels, each with pillars that form rounded arches. The porch was added in 1900. The roof with two eaves covers the main part of the church, while the roof covering the chancel is lower and with only a single eaves.
The heavy roof is supported by consoles, the ends of the upper beams of the walls, cut to decorative shapes. A carved twisted rope goes around the church just under the small windows."
source http://www.romanianmonasteries.org/index.html

Nobody έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1321
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ram Bel (rambel) (18)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH