Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Luco Castle - Piediluco (TR)rnrnThe place where today the ruins of the castle remain, Mons Lucus, was a sacred wood dedicated to the Roman divinity Velinia, wife of Janus. Perhaps the first building to be built on its summit was a small temple dedicated to this deity, which was later replaced, at the fall of the Roman Empire, by a sighting fortification. The first certain news of the existence of a fortified place on Monte Luco dates back to 1028, they are contained in a document with which Berardo di Arrone, feudal lord of the place, offers his possessions to the Abbey of Farfa, there is express mention of a “Castello de Luco”. Stratigraphic tests, conducted on the ruins of the current fortress, confirmed the presence of a fortified settlement, characterized by the presence of a quadrangular tower that constituted the keep of the castle and was its first fortified nucleus.rnrnTo learn more see:rnrnhttps://www.iluoghidelsilenzio.it/castello-di-luco-piediluco-tr/r

Fis2, ikeharel, pierrefonds, holmertz, jhm, PiotrF, ChrisJ έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17848 W: 130 N: 37549] (204174)
  • Genre: Τοποθεσίες
  • Medium: Έγχρωμο
  • Date Taken: 2020-10-28
  • Έκθεση: 1/807 δευτερόλεπτα
  • Έκδοση φωτογραφίας: Πρωτότυπη έκδοση
  • Date Submitted: 2020-10-29 0:42
Viewed: 0
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17848 W: 130 N: 37549] (204174)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH