Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Chapel of the Relics
Along the left aisle, we can also admire the Chapel of the Relics, added in 1540 to house sacred and precious vestments in addition to the Icon, or the autographed letter of St. Francis of Assisi written to Brother Leo.
The chapel is characterized by a series of carved and inlaid cabinets that run along all the walls. The front parts are all decorated with images of saints, the work of the artists Giovanni Andrea di Ser Moscato and Damiano di Mariotto. The bodies of these cabinets were used, however, to make the choir benches.
The Icon, on the other hand, is located on the right side of the chapel next to a wooden crucifix. It is one of the most important relics of the Saint of Assisi. The autographed letter sent to Friar Leone is the second ever sent by St. Francis. The Icon was originally kept in the Church of San Simone.
The small rectangular sheet is made up of 19 lines in total and perfectly preserved (SEE WS).

ikeharel, Fis2, Royaldevon, CMJC, holmertz, pierrefonds, jhm, sacimar, papagolf21, PaulVDV έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17699 W: 130 N: 37177] (202688)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH