Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Orsanmichele is a church constructed on the site of the kitchen garden of the monastery of San Michele, now gone. The church was originally built as a grain market in 1337 by Francesco Talenti, Neri di Fioravante, and Benci di Cione. Between 1380 and 1404 it was converted into a church used as the chapel of Florence's powerful craft and trade guilds. On the ground floor of the square building are the 13th century arches that originally formed the loggia of the grain market. Late in the 14th century, the guilds were charged by the city to commission statues of their patron saints to embellish the facades of the church. The sculptures seen today are copies, the originals having been removed to museums.

Here is the St. George by Donatello (1416), original kept in the Bargello museum.

----------------------
Based on Wikipedia

jhm, dkmurphys, delpeoples, Charo, bukitgolfb301 έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1654
Points: 26
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Gosia Siudzinska (siudzi) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2782 W: 23 N: 4581] (34141)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH