Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note


The monastery of Agios Georgios in Karydi was founded around 1600 when there was a settlement here in this place. During the Turkish occupation the village was destroyed because it was in a strategic position to the south (Sfakia). The residents (about 10 families) had to convert to Muslim or they had to leave. Four families were converted. The priest had to pay a lot taxes to keep the church intact (the Turks wanted to destroy it), in which he eventually succeeded with the help of the Agia Triada Monastery. In 1720 the monastery was therefore given to the Agia Triada Monastery to thank them. In 1821 the Christians were given more freedom from their Turkish oppressors.

https://www.angelfire.com/

This is a view of the monastery church from the gate, and in the WS there is a view of the gate from the church door

pajaran έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 321 W: 129 N: 1564] (9419)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH