Photographer's Note

Cap Frhel (ornithological reserve), located at 8.5 km from Frehel and 4 km from center Plvenon, one of the most impressive of Britain: the cliffs overlooking the sea about 70 meters. A trail between the gorse and heather, part of the GR 34, went around the Cape. On a clear day you can distinguish the Channel Islands of Jersey.

The old lighthouse (or lathe Vauban), granite, was built by Louis XIV in 1701 by a disciple of Vauban, Jean-Simeon Garangeau (1647-1741), who was appointed "chief engineer and director of the fortifications of St. Malo "in 1691 and remained until his death. At the time, was burned including the fish oil. A Lighthouse more modern and high will be built in 1836 to replace the current one. It was electrified in 1886. The German troops destroy it in August 1944. The current lighthouse, rebuilt from 1946 will be inaugurated in 1950: top 32 meters, his lantern above the sea 103 meters. In clear weather its light is visible over 100 km.


Cap Frhel gave its name to Cape Freels of the east coast of Newfoundland when local sailors have started to exploit the cod.

theme : Cap Frhel

Photo Information
Viewed: 1605
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Valerie Leconte (Leconte) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 716 W: 58 N: 1031] (5795)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH