Photographer's Note

Cette chapelle, situe au nord de la ville mdivale, est consacre Quenin, vque de 556 578, canonis en 1205. Elle possde une abside du XIIme sicle exceptionnelle par sa forme triangulaire et sa qualit : pilastres cannels chapiteaux corinthiens supportant une architrave, frise carreaux avec remplois anciens et corniche l'antique.
La nef et la faade remontes au XVIIme sicle sous l'vque Joseph Marie de Suars portent son blason. Une autre plaque orne du dcor religieux (vase eucharistique et pampres de raisin) encastr en faade a servi de modle aux armoiries de la ville en 1630.
----
This chapel situated to the north of the town was dedicated to Quenin, bishop from 556 to 578 and canonized in 1205. The apse dates from the 12th century. It is remarkable for its unusual triangular shape and fine workmanship: fluted pilasters with Corinthian capitals support an architrave with a frieze of tiles recycled from roman times and a cornice in the style of classical antiquity.
The nave and the faade, restored in the 17th century by bishop Joseph Marie de Suars bear his coat of arms. The religious symbols of the chalice and the grape vine, visible on the faade, inspired the arms of the town in 1630.

Nobody ()

Photo Information
Viewed: 1690
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Arnaud RAT (arnaud) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 25 W: 5 N: 26] (299)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH