Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

The Stadtpfarrkirche St. Stephan dates from as early as 1220 but the early structure was destroyed in 1477 by Matthias Corvinus, King of Hungary, to be replaced by the present Gothic building. The west tower fell victim to the Turks in 1683 and existed as a stump until the early 19th century when it was provided with a roof. After the destruction of 1683, a Baroque “onion” tower was added in 1697. On the outside walls of the church there are many interesting monuments, the oldest dating back to 1462. Inside the church, over the door to the organ loft, there is a bust of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart commemorating the composition of his “Ave Verum Corpus”.(source

Nobody έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1738
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Elena Cenusa (Roelena) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 31 W: 7 N: 44] (155)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH