Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Great HD462 2005-06-20 14:08

Nice bright colours, and sharp looking too. You've captured plenty of detail there, I wonder who scratched the Lifeguards' leg.

A question though, I'm pretty new to some of the terminology used on here. I've seen doing things "with curves", mentioned before in the touch up process. What does "with curves" mean?

Probably an obvious answer no doubt...lol :-)

Old 06-20-2005, 11:12 PM
TE Expert

Default To HD462: curves

Nothing to do with Bay Watch Babes charms!
Photoshop and Paintshop Pro (probably others too) have a way of adjusting contrast and brightness by way of a kind of graph; I'm no technologist so can't explain the theory, but have had lots of practice fiddling with it, and it makes a big difference to the output and clarity if your photos. If you have access to either of these programmes just click on "adjustment layer" and then select "curves". You get a grid with a diagonal line across. Just click on different bits of the line, move it about and experiment. Another system called "levels" will be on the same menu and this can achieve similar enhancements, but it is in the form of a histogram.
Hope that helps. If you want more information there will be lots of people out there who know more than I do.
Kath
Old 06-21-2005, 01:22 AM
TE Newbie

Default Re: To HD462: curves

Thanks Feather, I get the idea now. I'll have a look in my photo programs for similar features.
Old 06-21-2005, 01:27 AM
TE Newbie