Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

The Church of St. Francis of Assisi

The church was built by the Third Order of St. Francis of Vila Rica established there in 1745.

The general plan is attributed to Aleijadinho, who also designed and executed all the decoration of the sanctuary from the sanctuary-arch to the high-altar, including the reredos, the raised galleries, the roof in sculptured relief work and the pulpits of sculptured soap-stone.

Begun in 1766, the general construction was by Domingos Moreira de Oliveira, and the essential work was completed in 1794.

The main front is richly decorated with sculptured soap-stone. The main doorway and the medallion above it are also attributed to ALEIJADINHO, although the contract had originally been awarded in public competition to Josι Antτnio de Brito.

ALEIJADINHO is likewise generally considered to have been responsible for the splendid lavabo in the sacristy.

Manuel da Costa Ataνde painted, between 1801 and 1810, the roof of the nave, the dado of the sanctuary (imitation tile work) and the ceiling of the sacristy.

The patron is Our Lady of the Angels.


Font: Falcγo, Edgard de Cerqueira. Nas Paragens do Aleijadinho – Ed. Revista do Tribunais, 1955

mim_i έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 7462
Points: 5
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Roberto Mosqueira (Roberto_Babo) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 15 W: 2 N: 46] (227)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH