Photographer's Note

Labro, a small town to discover, nestled on a hill overlooking the valley Fuscello, overlooking Lake Piediluco and enjoy views of the Terminillo.
The City of Labro, a little more than 300 inhabitants located in the province of Rieti, on the border with the Province of Terni and rises to 628m above sea level. The town, the victim of so many calamities, was recently renovated by architect Ivan Van Mossevelde. The City of Labro was recently awarded the Orange Flag, eco-tourism Environmental assigned by the Italian Touring Club.
Labro certainly has Roman origins, the name of the small village derives from lavabrum dock for its proximity to Lake Piediluco.
The first recorded history dates back to 956 when Otto I of Germany enfeoffs and grants Aldobrandino de 'Nobili the town of Labro and 13 other castles and settlements nelDucato of Spoleto and in the county of Rieti, declaring investiture Labro for "head and metropolis "and giving weapons to the black eagle with a crowned head.
The history of Labro was anything but peaceful, on the one hand there were the numerous disputes with the lords of Luco, continually damaged by land reclamation agro Rieti, on the other there were the constant attacks of the rulers neighbors because the strategic position of the town.
The family donated Noble in the twelfth century. to S. John Lateran, the fourth part of Labro to find a valid support in the fight against the Normans, who were at the height of their splendor at the edge of Morro.
During the '200 Labro joined the county of Rieti always maintained that in the struggles of the lords of Luco, backed by the city of Spoleto.
In the second half of '400, following yet another war with the lords of the family Luco de 'Nobili was excommunicated and lost the lordship of Labro: at that time was destroyed the impregnable defensive position, which stood at the top of the country including , inter alia, the "keep". high tower from the top of which you could scan a large part of central Italy.
The lifting of the excommunication (Pope Sixtus IV, the original note dated 1476 is still preserved in the archives of the family) predicted that instead of "keep 'was erected a tower and that where the weapons were kept erect for a church. At family was the title and the walls on which Jordan de 'Nobili built the present fort palace, still owned by the family. In 1575 Girolamo de' Nobili wife Virginia, the last descendant of Vitelleschi. Both families mingle to ( de) Noble-Vitelleschi and combines the coats of arms: crowned eagle and fish (de 'Nobili), lilies and calves (Vitelleschi).
After the Unification of Italy, the city was part until 1923 in the province of Perugia, then Rome and finally in 1927 to that of Rieti.
In 1944 he suffered the German occupation, during a raid, which took place following the killing of a German officer by the partisans, were put on the wall more than 50 men in the country, including the Marquis Peter Noble-Vitelleschi. And it was thanks to the intervention of the latter and his wife Joan that the execution did not take place. On the one hand the Marchioness Giovanna, in addition to speaking fluent German, was accustomed to diplomacy (her husband was consul) and was then able to stop the shooting. On the other hand, the Marquis Pietro offered, in exchange for the release of the men of the country, their lives six Germans had discovered, among men of the country, some partisan.
In 1957 the village of Colli di Labro it is detached from Labro became an independent municipality and changed its name in Colli sul Velino.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16364 W: 130 N: 33842] (189071)
  • Genre:
  • Medium:
  • Date Taken: 2018-02-04
  • Categories: , ,
  • : f/1.2, 30
  • :
  • Date Submitted: 2018-02-05 5:40
Viewed: 892
Points: 52
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16364 W: 130 N: 33842] (189071)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH