Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

The Christian monastery at Fore was founded by St Feichin in 630AD. Prior to his death by yellow plague in the 660s, it is believed that there were as many as 300 monks and 2000 students in residence. Unfortunately, the only remaining pre-Norman building is St Feichin's Church, which was built around 900AD, on the foundation of an earlier structure. Between 771 and 1169, Fore was burnt at least twelve times. About 1180 Norman landlord, Hugh De Lacy built a Benedictine Priory on the facing hillside dedicated to Saint Feichin and St Taurin. Because of its relationship with a French abbey, Fore was regularly seized by the English authorities as "alien Property" when England was at war with France.

ikeharel έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1358
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Fred Byrne (Meglodon) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 28 W: 0 N: 88] (353)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH