Φωτογραφίες

Photographer's Note

Tsarytsino, meaning "Empress's village" in Russian, is an intriguing example of a grandiose Imperial summer residence that was never completed and never lived in.

The site, situated just 3 kilometers south of Kolomenskoe, dates back to the 16th century when Irina, the wife of Tsar Fyodor, owned an estate there. After passing through a number of hands, including Peter the Great's and the Moldavian Prince Dimitrie Cantemir's, the estate was eventually sold to Catherine the Great in 1775. The Empress changed the site's name from the rather inelegant "Black Mud" to "Empress's village" and sought to build a magnificent palace there to match her favorites on the outskirts of St. Petersburg.

The design of the estate was entrusted to Vasily Bazhenov who was told to create a park with pavilions in the Moorish-Gothic style that was so popular in Europe at the time, as well as separate palaces for the Empress and her son, Paul.

With BEST regards,
Arthur
Personal Guide & Driver in Moscow

Janice έχουν(ει) επιλέξει αυτή τη σημείωση ως χρήσιμη

Photo Information
Viewed: 1718
Points: 8
Additional Photos by Arthur Lookyanov (ArtLook) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 160 W: 4 N: 634] (2348)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH