Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Old 09-13-2007, 12:41 AM
TE Expert

Default Just an observation & PLEASE- NO POINTS...

Just an observation, but I find it sad that it's becoming harder and harder to find critiquers (let alone honest ones) here on TrekEarth.

I posted an image last night thats had 52 visits, yet only 2 people commented or critiqued. I don't care about points, but I do care about honest opinions.

I had to laugh as an image posted at about roughly the same time of a 'very shakey portrait' recieved about 3 times as much attention- and the real funny thing is that everyone gives it thumbs up as a good photo (what I commonly refer to as 'sugar-coated critiques').
I'm no photography expert and don't claim to be- yet I highly doubt that any semi-professional would find any photographic merrit in it.

Have people really become so point driven that they would rather 'sugar-coat' their critiques so people will return the favour with smiles vs. give an honest critique?

I feel bad for those people who join TrekEarth to improve their photography yet receive false praise from their piers.

I'd be interested in hearing other members thoughts...
All the best,
- Dan
Old 09-13-2007, 03:10 AM
TE Expert

Default Re: Just an observation & PLEASE- NO POINTS...